19
May
11

…almost gone!

“History will have to record that the greatest tragedy of this period of transition was not the strident clamour of the bad people, but the appalling silence of the good people.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

The beady-eyed clerk/flunky/official of the Archives Department looked at me with great suspicion. His mouth with protruding paan-stained teeth was more offensive than the open grave I had seen in Pratapgunj.

My first thought, then, was – would we ignore such despoliation around any crematorium/burning ghat or garbage disposal close to a mere stone painted orange and kept under a tree?

Second thought was, as to why nobody around (mostly well-off and erudite), appeared concerned and was this neglect and vandalism really a well-thought out plan to eventually grab the land?

Third thought…what about all the Muslim families and individuals living in this residential area?

But who dares raise a voice in Gujarat now?

 *

During my university days, the burial ground used to be a massive mound and surely it was conveniently haunted! There were stories of a ‘Begum Sahiba’ and her qabar …so, most of my friends at some point of time, took their choice of begums – current or otherwise – for a late evening stroll past the mound. Invariably, quite a few returned with ‘spirited and angelic’ faces!

 *

Anyway, I finally decided to document the knoll before it was razed to the ground. Armed with a camera and laden with memories, I clambered through thick bristly bushes and under the wary eyes of its sole guardian – the Indian Garden Lizard – scrambled over the inner wall.

At least ten graves, if not more, lay under piles of leaves and undergrowth. This was an old graveyard.

Then I saw this tree trunk that had over the years wrapped itself around a tombstone.

The epitaph was in Persian and had “survived the vicissitudes of time and politics.” But what did it say? Still under the impression that this had to be Begum Sahiba’s grave, I hunted around for scholars who could help in translating.

Vadodara the ‘Sanskar Nagari’ was reticent.

 *

Eventually, I was directed to Professor S. Hasan Mahmud, Director, UGC Academic Staff College, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi – whose help has been invaluable. It goes without saying that over the years he is the only person who has been most patient and supportive. I am really grateful to him for translating the inscriptions.

Went in search of a Begum and found a Nawab! My curiosity was stirred further.

During this period I also realised that a solitary grave (South-East of the main burial ground), formed a corner of the Pratapgunj club/ground. Littered with tons of garbage and subject to neglect, I recently managed to get the area cleaned.

The epitaph was in Urdu and the translation, a revelation! This is the grave of Nawab Saiyyid Sadr-ud-Din Husain Khan, a descendant of Nawab Saiyyid Nur-ud-Din Husain Khan Saheb Bahadur, who rests within the mound.

I was like a hound with the scent of the fox enticing the senses. Who were these Nawabs? What was their Vadodara/Pratapgunj connection? What happened to the family? What all has been razed to flatten Pratapgunj?

 *

Not too difficult to trace Baroda’s history. It was interesting to learn that before the Gaekwads captured Baroda, it was ruled by Babi Nawabs, who were the officers of the Delhi ruler. Mughal rule came to an end in 1732, when Pilaji Rao Gaekwad brought the Maratha activities in Southern Gujarat to a head and captured it.

So far so good….and then the aide memoire, as it were, that corruption is not only ‘ghotalas’ but of the mind and attitude too. I mean, how difficult can it be? Well, as difficult as in procuring a Ration Card; filing a Right to Information application or hoping that someone will respond if you dialled any of the various Helpline numbers provided by the authorities!

Pratapgunj as it is known now was once Nawab property and their private qabristan.

Contacted the City Library, City Survey Office, local Archaeological Survey of India Office, Vadodara Urban Development Authority, Pratapgunj Society Office, the Gaekwads, Baroda State Archives…. where the beady-eyed clerk/flunky/official had looked at me with great suspicion and asked, “Nawab ki jankari kis liye? Gandhinagar se permission hai?”

I should have known better. Years ago, I had approached the same office for some information on the English explorer Captain Sir Richard F. Burton of the 18th Bombay Native Infantry based in Gujarat. I had had to sign various forms and get them validated by a ‘reliable’ government person (!) or someone from the History Department who would vouch for the authenticity of my research (does it always have to be research? What has happened to a citizen’s interest in the history of his town?). Anyway, after getting all the silly signatures and stamps, the forms had been submitted and when the permission did come from Gandhinagar (after 4 months) – I was no longer in Vadodara; nor interested in finding out about the said Englishman – and, the authorization to access the archives was only for 7 days, holidays included!

 *

So, even though I have tracked down the present day, largely divided ‘Nawab’ family, I don’t really have anything to write about the Nawabs because I have not been able to secure satisfactory data. No one wanted to help and mostly they were curious to know why a ‘Hindu’ was interested in ‘Muslims’. Even put-in an appeal on Baroda-online (who did not find my request worth their time). Between Mahmud Begada and the Gaekwads, Vadodara’s history finds no mention of the Babi Nawabs. At least, that’s the way they want it to be.

To quote a friend, “I experienced the difficulties that you are facing for 25 years of my stay in Baroda.  I could not lay my hands on the documents of pre-Gaekwad and early Gaekwad periods in Persian that I know are in the Baroda State Archives.

There was no help from anywhere within the city either – not even from the Muslim community. Disturbing state of affairs, more so, because many of those approached are known to me, well-placed and influential within the community.

At the end of it all I felt such a fool being passionate about our history, heritage and trying to record what is left and fast disappearing. Very true, those who asked me the question – maqsad kya hai? The Hindus questioned my interest and the Muslims questioned my interest. In the eyes of both – I was not to be trusted.

Where do I go in this country of mine? Where is home – the oft asked question?

 *

However, some interesting links did materialize through various search engines:

A small rundown portion of the  ‘Nawab Manzil’ still exists.

The other sections have over the years been converted into ugly concrete apartments. How magnificent they must have been!

Another piece of  historical evidence was located at the Library of Congress, Washington. Really impressed with their Asian Division, who responded within a day of my query and have been kind enough to mail me a copy of the said item. I am thrilled!

 *

Coming back to what really is my ‘maqsad’?

Would it be sufficient to say that apart from my passion for history, I am trying to develop rida, tawakkul, sabr and mohabba.  Haven’t reached there as yet.

Nearly two years and nobody seems interested. No time for the living – why the dead!

They are…gone!

*

And, a year later……

*

August 25, 2012.

I was pleasantly surprised to find a Chaddar on Nawab Saiyyid Sadr-ud-Din Husain Khan’s grave. But, I have still not been able to find the person responsible for this.

Curious, I ventured towards the main burial ground and noticed that the path had been cleared and one could see the steps leading up.

The burial ground had been cleared too and I counted 13 graves within the mound compound with two outside (North-West and South-East corners).


This re-ignited my interest and I began the research again.

*

‘The Nawabs of Baroda,

In 1500 A.D. descendents of Hazrat Imam Husain, the grandson of the Holy Prophet, migrated from Arabia to Herat. The first descendent who arrived in India from Herat was Sayed Abdullah.

The fifth in descent from Sayed Abdullah was the founder of the Nawab Family of Baroda, Quazi Sayed Nuruddin Husain-Khan. He was employed in the Court of Delhi, and was honoured with the title of Nawab Bahadur, and made KHAN (the Chief), as well as Quazi by the Emperor of Delhi. Like his ancestors he too was a literary genius, and his persian MSS are still preserved in the British Museum and elsewhere.

In 1780 A.D. while Quazi Sayed Nuruddin Husain-Khan was on his way proceeding for pilgrimage to Mecca, the British employed him at Surat. In 1789 he was deputed along with an English officer as Native Agent in the Peshwa’s Court at Poona. His services were also appreciated by Anand Rao Gaikwar, the Maharaja of Baroda, who made his sons the NAWABS of BARODA.’

(Source: Page 48, “Representative Men of the Bombay Presidency” by John Houston. Published by C. B. Burrows, 1897 AD)

 *

I finally managed to meet Parvez Mazheruddin Nawab and Mh. Zubersahib, the  descendants of Nawab Nuruddin.

The land, north of the present Kala Ghoda circle – including what is now the M. S. University used to be the property of the Nawabs. ‘Pratapgunj’ in those days was an enormous tract of forested/agricultural land, with areas demarcated for cattle grazing, gardens and a specially constructed kabristan. There was also a large residential bungalow with expansive gardens situated at or around the present Pratapgunj Club. Nobody really has any information as to why and when this bungalow was razed to the ground.

*

Quazi Sayed Nuruddin Husain-Khan died in 1799 CE. This makes the Pratapgunj burial site 213 years old. It must be notified as a historical site and given all the protection as per laws laid down by the Government. The civic and other government authorities’ ought to be approached before the greedy hands of builders manage to demolish the property. The family should also immediately contact:

Dr. K.C. Nauriyal

Superintendent Archaeologist (Western Circle)

Puratatva Bhavan,

Opposite Bank of Baroda,

Mandvi,

Vadodara

Relevant rules and regulations can be found at <http://asi.nic.in/index.asp>

*

However, it is inexcusable for the Pratapgunj Society office bearers and the residents to allow such neglect of the site and the garbage found near it.

*

August 17, 2013.

Disaster!

Slide1

Slide2

Slide3

Slide4

Slide5

Slide6

Slide7

Heart-wrenching to see this! The local Nawab family is aware and they have approached the Puratatva Vibhag for help. I don’t know what the local authorities are planning but the family is determined to get the walls repaired. My sincere plea to all – this is our heritage. Please put aside personal animosities and step-up to assist in any way possible.

*

Happy to upload the following:

Slide1

Slide2

Slide3

Slide4

Slide5

Slide6

Slide7

Slide8

Slide9

Not thrilled about the garbage though!

It would be nice to end this post with a photograph of the Baroda family. Any takers?

*

March 6, 2017.

And I thought that I was done adding anything else! I am delighted to be proven otherwise!! Suddenly, I find that there is still material and information ‘out there’ for me to study, contemplate upon, examine, research, share and add to the history of the Nawabs of Baroda.

I am fortunate indeed, to have been contacted by Feisal Janab of London who is distantly related to the family through his mother, Zaheda Begum of London (daughter of Zaki-un-Nissa Begum, daughter of Moti Begum).

According to him, “my maternal grandmother/nani (Zaki-un-Nissa) and Javed Bhai’s paternal grandfather (dada) and paternal grandmother (dadi), who were in turn first cousins (I believe) were my nani’s first cousins.”

It is fantastic to learn that he has, in possession, a book on the Nawabs of Baroda through his mother. It will take me a while to upload detailed material/pictures, but here are some ‘gems’:

slide1

slide2

slide3


56 Responses to “…almost gone!”


  1. 1 Munir Kadri
    May 20, 2011 at 1:38 am

    A sad storry indeed. I can give you some clues. Sadruddin Hussain Khan was the father of my 3 Uncles who lived in the Nawab Manzil of Nawab Bada (or Wada )
    The son of my eldest Uncle, Badruddin Hussain Khan, died only a month ago at the ripe old age of 92. He lived in Baroda.

    Munir Kadri

    • 2 bichhubooti
      May 20, 2011 at 4:03 pm

      I will definitely meet Mr. Saleri. I had learnt from the Hakim family about the passing away of Badruddin Hussain Khan Saheb. Tried in vain to gather information from Aamirbhai and Javedbhai.
      Thanks very much for your comment.

  2. 3 Munir Kadri
    May 23, 2011 at 12:09 am

    The Nawabs of Baroda,who lived in Nawab Manzil,Nawabbada, were my maternal Uncles. All three of them are dead now. The doyen of the Family called Sayed Nawab Badruddin Hussain Khan, passed away only a month ago in Baroda. Only other surviving member that I know is Wali Hamid Begum,who now lives in Canada.

    Munir Kadri

  3. 4 sana saiyed
    May 24, 2011 at 12:13 am

    i ve been to this place dozens of time..that grave ‘almost gone’ is just near my school.
    It seems to be really safe.
    Good to see some one noticing it and putting a sheer light on this subject.
    really happy to see this blog.

  4. September 10, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    i am the great grand daughter of nawab sadruddin my father aziz nawab n badrudin are first cousins .my sister can brief u about history.

    • 7 bichhubooti
      September 11, 2011 at 6:33 am

      It would be nice to get some more information from your sister….but how do I contact her? Also, I have in my possession a copy of the ‘Genealogy of Nawab Family of Baroda: 1800 – 1943 A.D. Inclusive’. This was very kindly sent to me from the Asian Division of The Library of Congress, Washington.

      Please do let me know if you or any other family member would like to have a copy of this document?

      • 8 Ali Nimran Sheikh
        April 2, 2018 at 8:53 am

        Is it possible to provide a copy of it?

      • April 2, 2018 at 2:17 pm

        Dear Mr. Ali Nimran Sheikh,
        I don’t really know who you are and what is your involvement/interest in this legal matter that you have mentioned? Please note that I have just chronicled the history of the Baroda family – based on research and interviews. Copies of my research papers, notes and other documents cannot be made available.

  5. September 12, 2011 at 11:35 am

    yes sir i would like to have the copy.

  6. 13 fayba syed
    September 22, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    read your article. i am related to this family- grand daughter of fakhrunnisa begum who lived in juna mahal in nawab wada near nawab manzil. i met wali aunty in bombay and her mother elzy aunty in 1983. i appreciate your interest in our genealogy.
    but rida, tawwakul, sabr , muhabbah are achieved thru the qur’an and knowing the history of the messenger of Allah and his mission, of whom we are the descendants. Alhamdulillah, we have a noble heritage.

    • 14 bichhubooti
      September 24, 2011 at 9:50 am

      Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuh!

      My sincere thanks for the comment, but I have been pondering over the latter part of your communication – trying to comprehend the nuance and be able to reply without turning this link into a space for religious debate.
      I believe that Rida, Tawwakul, Sabr, Muhabbah are concepts that are found in all holy books and are universal by nature. To be content in the loveliness of, to trust, to have patience and to love with sincerity (Ikhlas) and thankfulness (Shukr) is the fundamental nature of all Faiths. It is then, left for the mortals to follow and implement without any prejudice.

    • 15 Ali Nimran Sheikh
      April 2, 2018 at 8:59 am

      Hello,
      There is a property in the name of Quazi Syed Nurrudin Husain Khan, where legal suit is being going on In respective courts. If any legal heir remaining from such information, do kindly contact me.
      There is limited period of time only of 30 days to make an application for its legal claim.

  7. 16 fayba syed
    September 28, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Wa alaykumussalam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh!

    No sir, we are certainly not in a religious debate. I was only leading you where to find these universal concepts of Faith, as I found them in my life. Hopefully to attain higher levels of them.
    Coming back to your passion for history, and mention of my family lineage, which caught my interest. Let’s talk about that. Javaid bhai and Amir are my maternal cousins. Hopefully Mr. Munir Kadri and Sana Saiyed could shed some light on this.

  8. 17 ArshadHussain
    October 10, 2011 at 7:47 am

    By Seeing Photos, Shame On Existing Nawabs of Baroda ?

    From,

    ArshadHussain Shaikh, Surat.
    Son Of AnisaBegum Of Moti Manzil , Baroda.

    • 18 Ali Nimran Sheikh
      April 2, 2018 at 9:02 am

      Hello,
      There is a property in the name of Quazi Syed Nurrudin Husain Khan, where legal suit is being going on In respective courts. If any legal heir remaining from such information, do kindly contact me.
      There is limited period of time only of 30 days to make an application for its legal claim.

  9. 19 seema salman
    October 18, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    i have received the document i was out of station .thank u for sending it.

  10. 20 Nayan
    November 14, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    Where is the Nawabbada located shown in this article, which part of vadodara – can I please have the address will be handy when i visit next year also the address for the Nawab of Baroda’s last resting place please. thanks

    • 21 bichhubooti
      November 14, 2011 at 4:14 pm

      Nawab-bada is in the Raopura area of Vadodara approached through a lane opposite the Corporation School No.1 and the last resting place is in Pratapgunj.

      • 22 Nayan Shah
        August 5, 2013 at 10:12 am

        Thank you for this, I took some good photos of the Nawab-bada, on my next trip to India and Vadodara I shall also try and visit the Graveyard of the Nawabs. Thanks

      • August 19, 2013 at 5:08 am

        Dear Mr. Shah,
        I hope you find the place in a better condition than what it is at the moment.

  11. 24 Umakant Amin
    July 19, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    I have also wondered about the history of Nawabs of Baroda. One can find history of any Nawab in Gujarat or India but not Baroda even though Baroda being a major state in preindependence time. I have been to the Nawab Manzil shown above several times and I think still Javed Nawab the eldest of the five brothers Javedbhai, Parvez, Kamaluddin, Sharek & Aamir is still living there. Of these five I think Kamaluddin can help you and he is my collage friend and meet him when ever I visit India & Baroda as I am also from Baroda. Finally found some history about the Nawabs of Baroda which sometimes in the past history must have been one of India’s largest & richest Nawab state. All the graves being of historical & archeological value the ASI should take care of them including the VMC and mark it as a place of tourist interest.

    • July 20, 2012 at 8:45 am

      Dear Mr. Amin,
      I am positive that if I were to further pursue this matter, I would definitely be able to unravel more of the rich history of the Nawabs of Baroda. However, you will appreciate that to do this I have to find enough time and resources. I have some contact numbers including that of Zubersahib – and will try and meet them one day.
      The ASI and VMC are useless! My question once again: If the family is unable to maintain the historical site or raise their voice – what about the residents of Pratapgunj? Why aren’t they doing anything about it?

  12. 26 Gunjan Singh
    August 15, 2012 at 11:07 am

    Indeed, brilliant piece of investigative documentation.
    It is a pity the book of history about the nawabs was sent to you by people in Washington whereas people are not even keenly interested and are suspicious about a honest search for roots.
    I have seen time and again, that people from foreign lands have better documentation and maintenance.
    There is an old mausoleum near ONGC which is under ASI and I never got enough information about it when I wanted to.
    I really appreciate that you have been working so hard to connect the links.
    Baroda has more history than what shows on surface.

  13. 27 rumana
    September 8, 2012 at 9:48 am

    hello. i would like to know if this research could be available in pdf format? I am relative to a Nawab here, and my uncle would like to read the reasearch. I would be highly grateful if you could give it to me.

    • September 9, 2012 at 8:38 am

      Hi! Am having a little problem in converting the blog-posting to pdf format. Are you based in Vadodara?

    • 29 Ali Nimran Sheikh
      April 2, 2018 at 9:06 am

      Hello,
      There is a property in the name of Quazi Syed Nurrudin Husain Khan, where legal suit is being going on In respective courts. If any legal heir remaining from such information, do kindly contact me.
      There is limited period of time only of 30 days to make an application for its legal claim.

  14. 30 Pervez Mazheruddin Nawab .
    September 8, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Arunbhai, I must appriciate your finding and indepth study about my faimily.It was nice to meet you on 5th Sept. As I informed you, we are the direct descendent of Nawab Nuruddin 2. I can provide you lots of documentation which I have collected and still my search is on. We all brothers of Nawab Family met on Saturday 8th and decided for upliftment of Pratapganj grave yard. I look forward some more meeting with you. Meanwhile we will also contact Supdt of Archeologist- in puratatva Bhavan. I appreciate your concern about NAWAB family of Baroda.
    Pervez Nawab

    • September 9, 2012 at 8:46 am

      Thanks very much,Pervezbhai. It was great meeting you and the others too! I am delighted that all the brothers of the Nawab family are taking such positive steps re the Pratapgunj grave yard. Please do keep in touch and I would love to study the documents you have collected.

  15. August 28, 2013 at 3:38 am

    Hai……u have did a great job…………keep posting………..its worth reading…….

    http://panvelpost.wordpress.com/

  16. 33 Nawab Mirza akramali beg ballantine
    October 20, 2015 at 9:02 am

    Aadab janab
    My name is Mirza AKRAMali beg ballantine of Baroda original nawab of Baroda ballantine family s in rawpura gavrament press opp ballantine house an nawab Mirza sarfharzasarfharzali beg ballantine

    • October 20, 2015 at 2:45 pm

      Delighted to hear from you. However, it would be nice to know where you are based at the moment? Also, any other inputs would be appreciated, e.g., some more historical facts and the reason behind ‘Ballantine’?

      • October 20, 2015 at 6:12 pm

        Mirza Nasir ud-din Muhammad Humayun mughal badsha khanwada taemur family bilog in baroda 1765 Mirza fazil ali his my b
        Garn garn……. Of garn fhadhars in baroda in living kothi road ballantine house .

      • October 21, 2015 at 2:59 pm

        I am afraid I did not find any ‘ballantine house’ on Kothi road and must confess that I find your English rather strange. Incidentally, do you know Mr. Saiyed Javaid Mazheruddin Nawab? To the best of my knowledge, he belongs to the original Nawab family of Baroda. Can you in any way, authenticate your statements?

      • October 21, 2015 at 6:28 pm

        Janab maf kijye ga lakin ballntine house kothi road par hi that ja abhi virlaz palza nam ka complex he his me indu bald bank he wahi par ballantine house huwa kaar ta tha AU’s time par pura diwan khan hatyaro she saja huwa hota tha.itni jankari he Hume

      • October 22, 2015 at 10:07 am

        Janab salam or Hafiz nawab sahab humari family’s ko aache she jante he wo humri kothi par bhi aakar gye he or Hafiz nawab sahab humre walid sahab ke bachpan ke dost he wo sab jante he humari family ke bare me . or janab maf kijye ga kuch Galt ya bura laga ho aap ko

      • October 23, 2015 at 8:15 am

        Rest assured, I am not offended – mujhe na ‘kuch galt ya bura laga hai!’ I do historical research and consequently I ask questions and seek authentication; for these are my basic and essential tools. It has taken me a long time to get to the history of the Nawabs of Baroda and mind you, this has been without any initial help or support from anybody. So, it would be appreciated if the other members of the existing Nawab family were to respond………….as I do not want to get into personal family matters nor do I want this site to become a source of public ‘unpleasantness’ – for anybody. The moment I feel such a twist, I will block all further comments and if need be, delete the blog. Incidentally, where are you based?

    • 40 Ali Nimran Sheikh
      April 2, 2018 at 9:09 am

      Hello,
      There is a property in the name of Quazi Syed Nurrudin Husain Khan, where legal suit is being going on In respective courts. If any legal heir remaining from such information, do kindly contact me.
      There is limited period of time only of 30 days to make an application for its legal claim.

  17. 41 Feisal
    March 3, 2017 at 9:36 pm

    Dear Arun Bhai,

    I read with fascination your excellent compilation on the Nawabs of Baroda. I am distantly related to the family through my mother, Zaheda Begum (daughter of Zaki-un-Nissa Begum, daughter of Moti Begum).

    I have in my possession a book on the Nawabs of Baroda through my mother. Since the book is written almost entirely in Gujarati script (which I unfortunately do not read or write), I am unable to send further details of the book; but wonder whether you are already aware of this book? If you would like further details of the book, please send me your email address, as I would be happy to send excepts from the book (e.g., family trees, Moghul Emperor’s Sanad, pictures of ancestors, etc.).

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Yours sincerely,
    Feisal

    • March 4, 2017 at 3:10 pm

      Dear Feisalbhai,

      Delighted to hear from you and am practically overboard with joy to learn about this book you have in your possession! I don’t think I know of this book and would be honoured and grateful for any information you are willing to share, that with your permission will eventually add to the saga of the Nawabs of Baroda.

      Please send me whatever is possible. By-the-way, where are you located?

      With sincere thanks!

      Arun

    • 43 Ali Nimran Sheikh
      April 2, 2018 at 9:12 am

      Hello,
      There is a property in the name of Quazi Syed Nurrudin Husain Khan, where legal suit is being going on In respective courts. If any legal heir remaining from such information, do kindly contact me.
      There is limited period of time only of 30 days to make an application for its legal claim.

    • 44 Matin Dayma
      August 23, 2020 at 5:53 pm

      Dear Faisal sir,

      It’s gald to know that you have really gem book in your possession.
      As of my knowledge that Nawab Sadruddin Hussain Khan Shahab donated approx 5000 books in jama masjid of Baroda, that library known as “Sadar kutubkhana”.
      As my ancestors had taken care of that library from 1968 to 2004.

  18. 45 Feisal
    March 9, 2017 at 9:42 am

    Dear Arun Bhai,

    Just replying to the above post, as otherwise it would seem that I’ve gone quiet! I’m based in London and will send details of the book.

    Yours sincerely,
    Feisal

  19. 46 Shireen Kayal
    March 16, 2017 at 10:19 pm

    The story is very interesting. Thank you for sharing it. I wonder, does the Nawabs family has anything to do with the name Sayyed Kamal ud Din Hussein Khan?

    • 47 Shakil Ahmed nawab
      March 18, 2017 at 1:04 pm

      Present Nawab including myself are descendents of Nawab Nuruddin second who is real brother of Nawab Kamaluddinhusein khan

      • 48 Shireen Kayal
        March 18, 2017 at 9:20 pm

        Thanks Mr. Shakil. Do you have any idea about the decentdents of Kamaliddin Hussein Khan?

      • 49 shireenaash@gmail.com
        October 31, 2019 at 9:03 pm

        do you have any contact with Kamaluddin’s family?

      • 50 Shireen Kayal
        October 31, 2019 at 9:17 pm

        do you have any contact with Nawab Kamaluddin’s family?

      • November 1, 2019 at 1:28 pm

        In response to the latest queries:
        Am no longer pursuing this matter/research as attempts to connect with family has been in vain. I apologize to all those who have contacted me requesting information/closure/clarification – but, at the end of the day, if there is no real feedback coming in from the family concerned – there is nothing I can do! Believe me I have tried!!!!

  20. 52 Shireen Kayal
    April 12, 2017 at 11:33 am

    Does anyone have any idea about the descendants of Kamaliddin Hussein Khan?

    • April 20, 2017 at 4:07 am

      Dear Shireen,

      This is just to let you know that your queries have been forwarded to Shakil Nawab and hopefully he would be able to respond with some information.

      Am not in Baroda these day, else would have personally met him and sent you some details.

      If you don’t hear from him, I request you to kindly bear with me. I shall make it a point to find out about the descendants of Kamaluddin Hussein Khan. I have to add matter to the post anyway. Should be able to do so once I return early June.

      By-The-way, are you related to the family in any way and where are you based?

      Sincerely,

      Arun

  21. October 3, 2017 at 9:22 am

    We know Sadruddin and Nuruddin are brothers of Kamaluddin, but we still can’t find any clues about Kamaluddin’s part of the story. Does any person have any information that might help with the search. Maybe any document or book?

  22. 55 Rafay Z
    April 15, 2020 at 8:58 pm

    I have done my own research on my family. There are some pictures which may interest you regarding Nawab Nuruddin Husen Khan of Baroda. Please share an email address to send them to you on.
    Regards,
    Rafay ZA.


Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 116 other subscribers
May 2011
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031